Back to Top

The Creative Industries Council announces award nominees

 Wednesday, 28th September, 2016

Find out who the CIC has named for its International and Cross Industry Collaboration Awards

The Hospital Club's partner for its h.Club 100 Awards, the Creative Industries Council (CIC) has revealed the nominees for its two awards.

Individuals leading convergence and building export success in the UK creative industries are recognised in the Cross Industry Collaboration Award and the International Award. 

The CIC, the partnership of government and business which advises on the UK’s creative industries strategy, will announce the winners of both awards during the h.Club 100 Awards in our TV Studio on 4th October.

The Cross Industry Collaboration Award recognises UK individuals that are making a commercial and creative success of bringing together several creative disciplines. Nominees encompass genre-crossing musicians, creators of mould-breaking games and arts events, innovative marketers and technology platforms enabling other creative businesses to flourish. Last year actor and film-maker, Andy Serkis, of Imaginarium Studios, won the award.

Meanwhile, the CIC's International Award celebrates individuals from creative organisations or programmes who have achieved international business success, supporting the rapid growth in the UK's exports of creative services.

In full, the nominees for the 2016 CIC Award for Cross Industry Collaboration are (in alphabetical order):

Damon Albarn, Musician
Sam Barlow, Video Game Designer
Jessica Curry, Composer & Video Game company Co-Founder
Sophie Cornish & Holly Tucker, Co-Founders,
Sarah Ellis, Head of Digital Development, Royal Shakespeare Company
Lee Hicken & Simon Zimmerman, Directors, Hebe Works
Helen Marriage, Director, Artichoke Trust
Grayson Perry, Artist
Nikhil Shah, Co-Founder, Mixcloud
James Walker, Head of Marketing, Channel 4

Find out more about the work of the Cross Industry Collaboration Award nominees.

Creative England CEO, Caroline Norbury MBE, who judged the nominations said: “A commitment to innovation is one of the distinguishing characteristics of the UK’s creative industries, and all our nominees demonstrate the power of bringing together creative disciplines in new and inventive ways."

In full, the nominees for the 2016 CIC International Award are (in alphabetical order):

Simon Allford, Partner, AHMM Architects
Neil & Sophie Chadwick, Co-Founders, Seasalt
Martin Darbyshire, CEO & Co-Founder, tangerine
John Fearon and James Bassant, Co-Owners, Astro Lighting
Matt Isaacs, Executive Chairman, Essence Digital
Jacqueline Lam, Co-Founder Mihaibao
Alex McCuaig, CEO & Chairman, Met Studio
Patrik Schumacher, Partner, Zaha Hadid Associates
Nathan McDonald, Global Managing Partner, We Are Social
Gareth Neame, Managing Director, Carnival Films

Find out more about the work of the International Award nominees.

Awards judge Tim Davie, CEO of BBC Worldwide and Director, Global, said: "This is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the international success of the UK’s creative industries and we were very impressed by the quality of the nominations for this category. Congratulations to the shortlisted individuals, who exemplify being both commercially and creatively successful, while making an impact on UK exports.”

The CIC will present the winners with these awards at the h.Club 100 Awards Ceremony on 4th October 2016. To find out more go to